You've read the text...seen the photos...now see what our guests say about us...

Gypsy Rose comments in Pink, The Apple Store comments in Green

Almost all feedback here is copied from handwritten comments in our Guestbooks which are in the accommodation for your contribution; the exceptions are those copied directly from guests who have posted on online review sites such as Trip Advisor, and they are marked as such. In other words, these are Genuine Comments from Real Guests!
NB*Anyone* (including unscrupulous holiday-let owners masquerading under fictitious names) can leave "reviews" on Trip Advisor, and some do! Beware!


                                                  Want to book?

                                                       Email us  Theapplestoreatmaytree@gmail.com

The Apple Store (AirBnB)

Lovely stay in a lovely location.

Sept 2017

-------------------------------------------------------------------------


Gypsy Rose (from Trip Advisor)

We loved staying in the Apple Store and definitely will be returning and recommending to everyone! Mary thank you for making us feel so welcome and at home, your baking is amazing and all your personal touches went the extra mile, the Apple Store is beautiful and cosy and the garden with ducks and the gypsy caravan is stunning too. The views are amazing and we will definitely be back to do more walks and local activities at some point, with the dog and kids in tow maybe! We've been recommending to everyone and wish you all best of luck at Maytree, you've got a gem there! you deserve it!

18th August 2017
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
The Apple Store

Thank you, Mary, for having us at your lovely cottage. Best nights sleep we've had. So peaceful.
I'm sure you know how lucky you are living in such a beautiful place. We enjoyed the steam train with a stop off at the Miners Arms for lunch, and had a 1st class meal at the Cock Inn. The fact you can walk there is a bonus. Lovely welcome every morning from OwButt the dog, her was there every morning when we opened the door.
Thank you for the pastries, absolutely beautiful. Wish my wife could bake like that. Its just a shame we couldn't have stayed a little longer.
Thank you, Mayr, hope to see you very soon.
Best wishes, D & D ( Doncaster) 13th August 2017

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The Apple Store

What can I say? We were so excited to come back for yet another visit and we haven't been disappointed.
You're such a lovely welcoming host and made my birthday so special with the most amazing "delux" Afternoon Tea, all ready for when we arrived. The attention to detail and love you put into your food truly shows - it was the best Afternoon Tea we've ever had.
Love our chats about the world, it's really like coming to visit a friend. We are going home relaxed after having wonderful sleep. The place is so tranquil it's like food for the soul.  We loved having a visit to the cottage from the ducklings and we love OwButt, he is the most gentle soul and opening the door to him sitting patiently every morning brightens our days.
Thank you for the flowers, cake and fruit and especially my birthday card. The warm bread and pastries are sucj a treat it's a good job we've walked so far over the last few days!
Blossom the dog has loved coming back again and her walks around Mallards Pike with plenty of swimming.

We're sad to be leaving but can't wait to come back again soon.
Take care and thanks for a great stay.

M, B-R & Blossom 11th August 2017

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


Gypsy Rose (from Trip Advisor)

This was our third year staying in the gypsy wagon, and we will be back again, and for longer next time! Mary is a very welcoming host, and will go out of her way to make you comfortable and relaxed, including amazing freshly baked goodies! The location is beautiful and peaceful - the stream and ducks are a constant reminder of being of natures doorstep. The most relaxing, peaceful break I could have! Be back shortly!

8th August 2017
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
The Apple Store (AirBnB)

A wonderful rural retreat full of rustic charm. The location couldn't be lovelier and neither could the hostess, Mary who went out of her way to make us welcome. If you get a chance, book the pizza oven. Our 10 and 13 year olds absolutely loved helping their dad build the fire and create the pizzas! There's a beautiful garden with ducks and a gorgeous sheepdog who quickly became firm friends with my son. Mary baked us complementary bread, pastries and cake and stocked the fridge with milk, butter and juice. Sadly, we could only stay one night but we would highly recommend The Apple Store to anyone looking for the perfect rural getaway.

July 2017



The Apple Store

We had a wonderful time (despite the crazy weather) and couldn't have asked for a nicer place to stay! You were so welcoming and friendly and your baked goods are amazing! Will definitely try to be back.

B, L & family 30th July 2017


Gypsy Rose

Thank you for a lovely stay. You made us feel very welcome.
It was lovely to spend a few days not thinking about technology and mobile phones! Jacob thought he was in the Famous Five books, dog included... I think the "Can we get a dog?" questions will come now...
I loved the walks and peacefulness of the place.
I loved it all, it is unique and it was so nostalgic of the past.
Thank you for the experience of it all, and the delicious BUNS 5*
I will visit again ASAP!

Lots of love
L, L & J (Bristol) July 24-26th 2017
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------
Gypsy Rose

What a lovely tranquil place to spend a few days relaxing. We loved the Gypsy Rose wagon and cooking our breakfast on the fire outsdie.  We loved the fresh rolls and pastries to go with our bacon and mushrooms.
You have made us feel so welcome. We were so lucky with the weather so we could spend so much time outside but also cosy and snug in our night in the cottage.
We hope to be coming back again another time. The flowers and champagne were a wonderful - a great surprise. Thanks

J & B 17th June 2017
---------------------------------------------------------------


The Apple Store
Thank you for a very nice few days. Nice and peaceful. Great rolls and pastries.

Regards C&R June 2017


-------------------------------------------------------------------------

Gypsy Rose (via Trip Advisor)

Fantastic fun

 Left on Jun 15, 2017 for a stay in Jun 2017
Lovely getaway in the Forest of Dean. Switch off your phone and enjoy the total peace and relaxation of The Gypsy Rose. We loved cooking breakfast on the open fire, Mary made us so welcome with a delicious hamper and gorgeous homemade bread, pastries and cake. We loved having Mary's dog visit us and enjoyed watching her ducks playing in the stream....we can't wait to visit again.

Joanne
------------------------------------------------------------------------

The Apple Store via AirBnB

We really enjoyed staying at the Apple Store over a weekend. The cottage and surrounding area are charming, Mary is very responsive, easy to get in touch with, not to mention a wonderful baker! The scones with clotted cream and homemade jam in the evening, and rolls in the morning were an extra special touch... Loved playing fetch with Mary's dog and exploring the surrounding woods. We got good advice on sights in the surrounding areas to see as well. If you're looking to get away and experience life closer to the earth, away from big city distractions, this is the place for you!

May 2017
-----------------------------------------------------
The Apple Store

We just wanted to say a massive Thank you for such a lovely stay!
From the moment we arrived the kids made themselves right at home and they have enjoyed stalking you ever since!  They have also claimed that The Apple Store is "better than Butlins"!  Thank you for the lovely food and chats and information and directions! We are already planning to come back next year as we love it so much.
We will muss the duck entertainment, Bott being outside with his stick and the parrot's beautiful whistling!  We'll be back soon!

H,I,J& M 27th May 2017

--------------------------------------------------------------

The Apple Store (via Air BnB)
Lovely quiet spot surrounded by animals! Warm and welcoming host with lovely touches like welcome cake, milk in fridge and a basket of warm breakfast goodies.


April 2017
------------------------------------------------------------------


The Apple Store

Thank you for having us. We had a wonderful few days away from the busy life of Nottingham.
Kids loved just chilling and being in the sunshine.
Stanley loved his 1st holiday and exploring.
Take care

S,S,T,O,T & Stanley 14th April 2017

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
The Apple Store

We have had a lovely stay at your accommodation, Maytree Cottage. We loved seeing all the sights surrounding this beautiful spot. OwButt waits for us every morning to throw his stick and our dog, Belle, has found a new Best Friend.  After playing swing=ball here we would have to have one at home.
Belle is quite good going in the stream.
This cottage is super convenient for if you want to pop down to the shops for lunch at a 10 minute walk and only a short drive away from nearby villages such as Lydney and Blakeney.
Your breads and pastries were really nice to wake up to. We have had a really homely stay at this accommodation. We have had an amazing holiday. Thank you!

E,P, E, M & Belle 10th April 2017
--------------------------------------------------------------------------

The Apple Store

What a wonderful little cottage you have. Was a home away from home.
The boys loved the garden and OwButt as did our dog, Oscar.  The little maps that are hand drawn are fab. The boys thought they were treasure maps.

We visited the childrens mini railway and it was so much fun.  The best part of our trip was definitely Mary's baking in the morning. Our boys shrieked with delight when Mary knocked at the door.
This is something completely different from what we would normally do but we all loved it.

Thank you
G (Widnes)
----------------
-----------------------------------------------------------------

The Apple Store

Thank you Mary for a wonderful, warm welcome and letting us stay in your comfy space.
Sorry we didn't have room the cake but the warm pastries this morning were perfect!
I think we will still be throwing sticks for your dog in our sleep this evening!
Many thanks again and all the best.

M,M & H 2nd April 2017

------------------------------------------------------------------------------

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The Apple Store

What a delightful home you have.
Thank you for the lovely meal on arrival - delicious.
All that lovely bread and pastries. I used to do it years ago but let it go.
We had some lovely walks in the Forest of Dean. Star loved it. We had brilliant weather too.
The cottage is very cosy and warm, our children chose your cottage for our 50th Anniversary and it was the best choice

B&P 26/3/2017


--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Gypsy Rose

Staying in the wagon was an indescribable feeling.  Me and my friend have had some troubles recently and this trip has really put more perspective on what is really important and has reminded us that life isn't all bad!

The beautiful surrounding, the wagon and your puppy! Amazing.
We made a fire and cooked bacon, sausages, tomatoes and mushrooms for the first time! (Even though it took 3 hours to make a fire)
I thought I brought a man to do all that but he just played the guitar! I even went in the stream!

Thank you for teaching us and putting up with us. We'd love to come again.

S&R 1/3/2017

---------------------------------------------------------
The Apple Store

Thank you for your hospitality and our last minute booking at your lovely home.
We really needed a quiet get-away for my partner's birthday. Loved the comfy feel to the cottage and the homely decor.
Even though it rained the whole day Saturday we still enjoyed the market and ate well. Lovely bed!

We'd deff come back on a spring/summer stay to enjoy all the walks.

R,S & Meg the dog 9th Dec 2016
---------------------------------
------------


Gypsy Rose

We had a lovely one-night stay in the caravan, learning to light a fire and experiencing a simpler way of life.
A beautiful setting and just the change of scene we needed at the end of a busy half-term.
Thank you Mary for such a warm welcome and the hospitality. We enjoyed ourselves!


N,D& F October 2016


Gypsy Rose
We had a lovely night in the caravan. Mary was a wonderful host and we woke up to a nice basket of freshly made rolls, brioche and croissants to go with the food she provided us with the night before.
We'll definitely be back for another visit soon!


A&E October 2016



Gypsy Rose
A wonderful welcome from a very lovely lady. The bread, cake, breakfast, everything was fabulous.
A totally perfect weekend, sitting under the stars, escaping from the world. Thank you for a truly amazing stay. Can't wait to come back.


T&A Oct 2016

Gypsy Rose
Idylic setting.
For and outdoor/indoor experience, this was perfect. Everything provided and then extras on top mad a wonderful time.

One can camp under the stars, rent a flat anywhere - but how often do you get to stay in a gypsy caravan? And have a Queen's Breakfast left outside the door?

The hospitality and setting provided by Mary and Kes was amazing! Staying here was a calming and lovely experience. I'd come here again.
We all loved the dog!!! :-)
Thanks so very much.


A, G & J
Hertford, UK/Arkansas, USA
Sept 2017


Mary says: "Thank you so much! You're more than welcome anytime! :-))"
-------------------------------------------------------

Gypsy Rose
Thank you very much, we had a lovely time. Didn't get to see any wild boar but we did see wild deer, and Richard made a new best friend (OwButt, the dog!)
The baking was lovely, thank you very much. We enjoyed every second.


J&R from Nottingham, August 2016


Mary says: "Wild boar are shy creatures, but a quiet walk or drive at dusk or early in the morning and you'll quite often see them in the woods. Or just look out of the window when there are windfall apples in Autumn - there were 22 wild boar on the orchard one morning! 3 Mums and all their babies, feasting on the apples!!!"
----------------------------------------------------------

The Apple Store
(Reviewed on Trip Advisor)


Idyllic setting with 1st class hospitality!

 Left on Sep 3, 2016 for a stay in Aug 2016

This is our second trip to The Apple Store (our first being in February 2015) so we were excited to come back in summer to appreciate the beautiful setting and surroundings of the cottage in the sunshine.

This is a little gem of a place where you can unwind, sit on the lovely terrace for some al fresco dining with the sound of the waterfall and river as a perfect soundtrack. There's even a pizza oven and a gas barbecue in the garden.

The cottage is really comfortable with lovely touches like the cast iron rolled top bath, the AGA oven and with everything you need, a little home from home and the most comfortable of beds (never slept as soundly before as I have here).

Mary is the perfect host, with the warmest of welcomes and hospitality that is second to none. She is genuinely one of the nicest people you could wish to meet and I enjoyed our lovely chats, nothing is too much trouble for her. I would definitely recommend her home cooking. Such a lovely touch to have freshly baked warm bread rolls and a selection of pastries, expertly baked by Mary, delivered to your doorstep every morning for breakfast - it's a good job there are such beautiful walks in the Forest of Dean on the doorstep!!

We took freshly picked apples, raspberries and blackberries from the cottage garden with us on our picnic to the stunning lake at Mallards Pike, literally up the road from the cottage. The information in the cottage on local walks and places of interest was invaluable. Our dog Blossom loved it here and made good friends with Butt the dog. Mary even looked in on our dog for us while we went out for the evening to give her a cuddle to settle her.

The place is just so idyllic, that we didn't want to leave and actually ended up staying for 7 nights instead of the 4 nights we booked.
We are going home feeling relaxed and rested and appreciative of the late checkout so Blossom can have a final swim in the lake and a walk in the forest before setting off for home

At the bottom of the garden by the side of the waterfall is a beautiful gypsy caravan that we had a look inside and if off grid glamping is your thing (we prefer our home comforts) then you couldn't pick a more beautiful location. Can't wait to come back in autumn!

M&B + Blossom
Birmingham, UK

Mary says: "Wow! Thank you, ladies! We're always striving to improve, so your comments are very welcome. Gypsy Rose came in 2015, the patio/outdoor kitchen in 2016... next year... Who Knows?! Check back often and book early - you're always very welcome, and only 90mins away! :-))"
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Gypsy Rose
Loved it, sun was shining, fire lit & kettle on!

Enjoyed having the time to do nothing but sit & cook, play with the dog and watch nature (and drink cider ;-)  )
So Relaxing

Live Happy!

S&D August 2016  www.lovewinetravel.com
-------------------------------------------------------------

Gypsy Rose

Simply perfect

     Stunning setting

        Cute & cosy caravan

           Mary is an Angel

               Fabulous second visit

                   Can't wait for the next

                        Much love & thanks

J&P August 2016

----------------------------------------------------

The Apple Store
Thank you so much for a lovely relaxing stay.
It was so kind of you to provide the fresh breads and pastries and Gluten-free treats - they were delicious and much appreciated, thank you!
Heading home feeling very well rested, just what we needed. Thank you.


L&M (Leicestershire) Aug 2016

----------------------------------------------------------

Gypsy Rose

We've had a lovely, peaceful and relaxing time.

A lovely breakfast basket on arrival, which I enjoyed cooking on a open fire. Pastires and bread each morning too which were delicious.
We'd recommend the local Italian restaurant, very nice.

Very cosy evenings with dim light and prosecco is exactly what we needed for our "MiniMoon". Hope to be back.

The only negative is that I can't get away with putting Ol'Butt (the dog) in my car to take home - what a sweetie!

M&S August 2016

---------------------------------------------------------

The Apple Store

We have all enjoyed our stay at The Apple Store, your baking is lovely and plentiful, and very much appreciated.
Thank you for your hospitality; it is a pleasure to meet you and your dog, ducks and ducklings.

P, E & family
August 2016

--------------------------------------------------------
The Apple Store

We have all had a lovely time, relaxing, playing with the dog in the garden, making ice-cream, learning a few notes on the melodian, walking and cycling around the area, making food in the big cooking pot, making pizzas and cooking them in the pizza oven and generally chilling out.
The PhD didn't quite get finished but it is well on its way.  It's been great to get out of the city and into the woods for a while. Puzzlewood was better than we expected. We even managed to fit in a session of dog yoga at the village hall!

You have been brilliant, thoughtful hosts. Local knowledge invaluable.
We loved all the bread and pastries


L,R,L, S & Tiger
August 2016

---------------------------------------------------------

Gypsy Rose
We have had a most enjoyable relaxing stay here in this unique, magical place.
Special thanks for making us feel so welcome and delicious bread, croissants etc.  Also, thanks for the more than ample Welcome pack for our breakfasts which we thoroughly enjoyed cooking on the open fire.
Caravan very cosy and comfortable too. We will be back.


L&C July 2016
----------------------------------------------------------------

Gypsy Rose
Wow! What an amazing time we've had. A unique break away from everything in gorgeous surroundings. Waking up to the sounds of nature and the smell of fresh bread - perfect!
Thank you so much for your outstanding hospitality, Mary. Your baking delicious. We will definitely be recommending this beautiful place to our friends and family.


J & D June 2016
---------------------------------------------------------

Gypsy Rose
I knew this place was special when I was fortunate enough to stumble across your website but just how special we recognised the minute we arrived. Your kind and welcoming nature put us at ease straight away and enabled us to relax very quickly.
The outdoor experience (no WiFi, no phone and off-grid) was perfect - really allowed us to "get away from it" and spend a lovely time chatting and enjoying each other's company.
You have clearly thought through the rustic/rural experience and have got it completely right.
Your hospitality was amazing and the special touch of fresh baking in the morning a real luxury. Many thanks - don't change a thing!


J&M June 2016
------------------------------------------------------------

The Apple Store
Thank you for a lovely stay.
We have loved your bread rolls that you have made us every morning - they are the best we have ever tasted!
And thank you for being so helpful and helping find dog-friendly places - our poodles loved it here too!
We hope to see you again in the future.


A,L, A & C
April 2016

---------------------------------------------------------
The Apple Store
Thank you so much for a wonderful short break. I don't think we have ever had a more welcoming host and we have been pleasantly surprised by how much there is to do in the area. We will definitely recommend you to our friends and family...

Thank you for our amazing stay at The Apple Store. It was probably the most welcoming holiday we've ever been on!
The pastries in the morning were fabulous. You were very helpful and it really helped us to know where the best places were.
The facilities were extremely inviting and we would definitely recommend to friends and family.


R, J, H&S April 2016
-------------------------------------------------------- 

The Apple Store

Thank you for a welcome stay. We have loved our weekend stay and will be coming again. The bread, fruit and cakes have bee a lovely treat, especially the the shortbread - we ate that all.
Thank you again


K, J, S&S
March 2016

--------------------------------------------------------

Gypsy Rose
Thank you - we had a delightful weekend in the country!

I&L March 2016

---------------------------------------------------------
Gypsy Rose
We had a super lovely time in Gypsy Rose.
Really enjoyed the setting of the waterfall and babbling brook. The tealights made the place completely magical.
Cooking over an open fire made us appreciate the delicious food. We love the slow life!
Thank you for your amazing hospitality. We hope to come back for another stay with our duck friends!


E&K April 2016
---------------------------------------------------------

Gypsy Rose
Wow!
What a fantastic place, beautiful and so very welcoming!
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Gypsy Rose. It was a heart-warming experience, so cosy and feeling at one with nature.
We were lucky enough to experience a few days at the house too - which was so perfect and romantic.
Thank you for looking after us and spoiling us with freshly baked bread and cakes each morning.
A truly magical stay. We will see you again


S&P March 2016

--------------------------------------------------------
The Apple Store


Thank you again for a very enjoyable stay, so peaceful, such a lovely place, your hospitality 10/10

S,C & Bobby the Boxer Feb 2016
------------------------------------------------------------

The Apple Store


We have had such a lovely stay here, it really is a hidden gem.  Thank you so much for your fabulous hospitality and cooking!! We will definitely be returning. You really do have something very special here.


                                                                                                R & P February 2016
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
The Apple Store

What a fantastic holiday we have had at The Apple Store! Beautiful location - so peaceful and relaxing, and a wonderfully comfortable place to stay. It's been just what we needed to end the year with - and see the next one in!
Mary's hospitality has been exceptional, and the baking - wow! We echo others in asking: When will you be on GBBO?!  Just as well we'd not made any diet-related New Year's resolutions :-)
Our Scottie, Fergus, has loved it too and settled in as if it were home straight away. He's been walked ragged - will be glad to go home for a rest!
We will most certainly come back & will definitely recommend to friends and family.
Happy New Year!


C, N & Fergus (Cumbria)
28th Dec - 2nd Jan 2016

Many thanks for your kind words. No plans to appear on GBBO at all, ever! But glad you enjoyed the morning bread, cakes & pastries :-)  Mary
-----------------------------------------------------------------------

Gypsy Rose

*****  5 Star
An Amazing place. So relaxed. Felt like a free child again, cooking on a real fire etc
Great setting, great chats! Will be back again

L&P October 2015
----------------------------------------------------------------------

Gypsy Rose

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Gypsy Rose; a lovely wagon, in a lovely setting, with a lovely host.
Thank you for looking after us, it's been wonderful

G&C October 2015
-----------------------------------------------------------------


Gypsy Rose

What can I say?  From the warm Lemon Drizzle cake to the really interesting chats - the superb breakfast hamper (excellent bacon and sausages) - it has been an adventure!
We will be back!

E&C  October 2015
----------------------------------------------------------------------

Gypsy Rose

The Perfect spot!!
We couldn't have wished for a better place to stay; back to basic living, comfy bed and beautiful surroundings.
Mary, you are one of the most lovely genuine people I have met in a long time and your baking is AMAZING!!

Not short of entertainment with Butt, the ducks and the crazy chickens.
Thank you so much, we will be back soon!
K & L  (Devon) 18-20th Sept 2015
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Gypsy Rose

What a beautiful peaceful spot. Wish we could stay longer.
Mary is so helpful and the bread rolls are delicious. Our 7 year old grandson will never forget it.
If we can cope, cook over a campfire etc, at 70 years old, anyone can! 

What a wonderful experience, thank you.

S, R & A September 2015
From Poole, Dorset
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
The Apple Store

We have had a wonderful stay.
Enjoyed the charm of The Apple Store and the hospitality has been faultless.
Thank you so much for looking after us so well. We enjoyed the home-made fresh break & cakes every day, and our dog, Poppy, had a wonderful time playing with Ow'Butt.

The camp fire down by the stream was idyllic and thank you for providing us with everything we could have needed.
You were a great host and we will definitely come back.

A, S & Poppy the cocker spaniel  September 2015
from Somerset
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
The Apple Store


Had a lovely relaxing stay in The Apple Store.  Comfortable, clean and well-stocked for a self-catering week.  Lovely views even if overcast, plenty of lovely walks although probably not enough to burn off all the calories consumed from the lovely fresh rolls and cakes every morning.

Thank you for the fresh hen & duck eggs and the vegetables and fruit - delicious and much appreciated.
The ducklings are sweet and Butt is great fun.
Thanks for everything.

M & I    23rd August 2015

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Gypsy Rose

We have had a truly lovely stay and cannot think of a better way to have spent our 10yr anniversary together!

The caravan is idyllic - so cosy and rustic but homely.  We loved cooking on the skillet and whiling away hours by he fire.  It was fantastic to have all the necessities and niceties of glamping.  Getting baskets of freshly baked loveliness each morning was amazing!
Thank you for making us so welcome.  You have made us fans of gypsy caravanning!!


G&K August 2015
Reading
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Gypsy Rose
Well, what can we say? 
A perfect slice of heaven - & that was just the chocolate Brownie!

Amazing from start to finish! Mary, you have been a fabulous host & your baking was to die for!
Gypsy Rose has been the perfect base for our mini-adventure around the Forest of Dean!
Thank you - we look forward to coming back again soon.

Not forgetting Ow'Butt, the most well-mannered, clever dog! We will miss him!

K & J 9th August 2015
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Gypsy Rose
...Fulfilled our daughter's dream of staying in a gypsy caravan.  A lovely setting with very friendly animals.
The breakfast hamper was perfect to set us up for the day, and cake on arrival was most welcome.  Mary, you have done a fantastic job - we'll be back! 
Many thanks

T,D & L  4th August 2015
Wales
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Gypsy Rose
We absolutely loved our stay, really did not want to leave.
Mary, you have been a wonderful host and we cannot wait to come and stay again.

So thrilled with this 'find', I really hope it stays as pure as it is.

Much love, until next time!


Gem & Matt  August 2015
------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Many thanks for making us feel so at home.

The welcome and supper prepared for our arrival were both warm.

Your generosity of spirit is clear in everything to do with The Apple Store, which is far from being the empty shell that characterises so many self-catering properties.  At all time we felt like welcome guests in a secluded part of your home.

The fabulous walks hereabouts don't quite burn off the calories from the delicious baking! Many thanks to you and Ow'Butt!


J, K & Dexter
June 2015
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Thank you for your hospitality and the baking.  Excellent breakfast, very comfy bed.


A&B, Yorkshire
June 2015

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Lovely stay in The Apple Store. Everything we needed in a beautiful setting.
Mary was really welcoming and her lamb hot-pot on our first night was amazing.


B&B and Binky
May 2015

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

A very nice stay.
See you again, I hope, in the Autumn


N&P
May 2015
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Another lovely relaxing weekend (our 4th visit!)
We did more of "Sammy's walks" and have been very lucky with the weather.
Mary has delivered her fantastic baking again and our dinner was delicious.  Rolo loves it here as much as we do.  We'll be back again soon


Love from G, N & Rolo
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Mary, you made us feel so welcome even before we got here!
You and your 2 lads made us feel like we've known you for years.  The food was wonderful and Ow'Butt was great fun.
We can't wait to see you again in June for some more beautiful walks
Thank you


D, L & Freddie
April 2015
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
2nd visit for us, and this time we got to see more of the beautiful area.  Lots of walking in various forests, made all the better because of the glorious weather. 

Thank you again for your amazing breakfast baskets, yummy cake, and thanks to the chickens and ducks for their eggs, too!

Despite their excited barking Sam & Murphy have enjoyed their time here too.

Thank you for a fabulous time and your wonderful hospitality.  Hope to see you soon :-)


P,S (and Sam & Murphy)
April 2015
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
A Big Thank You for your fabulous hospitality - we have really enjoyed our stay.
The food has been wonderful amd we so enjoyed our fresh hot rolls and croissants in the morning.  A lovely location and a really comfortable cottage.
We enjoyed watching the ducks and hens, especially Charlie Drake, and our dogs Noodle & Trip were made very welcome by Ow'Butt.
We will recommend The Apple Store and hope to come back again soon.
Thank you


A&P
Easter weekend April 2015
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Thank you very much for the hospitality.  The food was delicious and we were made to feel truly welcome with our dog.  The location is ideal.  We have had a relaxing weekend.
We especially enjoyed the rolls, but everything was great! Thanks again!


S & D, (and Katie & Jemima)
March 2015
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Thank you for you hospitality, we have had a lovely few days enjoying the beautiful walks, the scenery and the delicious food you have provided.
We have been lucky with the weather but it is so peaceful here we would still have enjoyed walking with our dogs.
Many thanks again


L&K, (and Fergus & Lola) from Leicestershire
March 2015

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Thank you, Mary - we had a very peaceful stay.  The home-made cakes and breads were lovely.
It was so nice to get away and have time away from work and our other animals.  Bobby the dog seemed to like being with us on her own and was very well-behaved.  Thank you for the Mother's Day cake; I will enjoy that at home.
Would love to come back again with the other dogs as well.
Home from home!


                                                                                                                         C,S & Bobby  03/15
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Arrived quite late in the evening to a lovely warm welcome and home-made pizza (the best we've ever had), home-made soup and freshly baked bread.
Cottage is spotlessly clean with every home comfort. Home-made cakes, tea, coffee and sugar is such a lovely touch and Mary has though tf everything you'll need for a break away.
We found the information on the local area invaluable and we've had some great walks with our dog in beautiful scenery.
Can't wait to come back in summer to sit outside on the patio and take in the gorgeous views from the cottage.  We had fun feeding the friendly ducks and chickens and meeting Butt.  Thank you Mary for a relaxing break; we're so pleased to have found The Apple Store. 10/10


                                                                                                  M, B-R & Blossom 26th Feb 2015
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

A huge Thank You to Mary and her sons for being so welcoming, helpful and friendly!

We had a great weekend, wish we could stay for longer. Mary provided us with a cake for Ben's birthday and lots of other treats - we'd vote for her on Great British Bake-off!!
Thank you so much, will definitely recommend.


                                                                                                                     R& B   Feb 2015
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Thanks for the lovely hospitality and excellent cakes!

                                                                                                             S,Y & O Feb 2015
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Thank you for a lovely stay. We really enjoyed your cakes and bread and the lovely dinner. The location is wonderful and very peaceful. Thanks again

                                                                                                            K&J Feb 2015
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Last minute booking and can't believe our luck finding you and the charming "Apple Store".
We enjoyed your food so much it's a good job we walked a lot! You made us very welcome and our dog, Mavis, enjoyed Butt's company.
The festive decorations really lifted our spirits after a very difficult week. We Will Be Back!
Thank you very much for everything and for letting us stay a little longer on Monday to enjoy a final walk.


J, M & M from Cambridgeshire, November 2014
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
We've had a wonderful short break in your cottage, warm cosy & homely - just what we'd hoped!
The lamb hotpot was the best we've ever eaten & we particularly enjoyd the Stinking Bishop cheeseboard & fresh pastries; you are very skilled in baking but also in looking after us and making the trip special.
Although not down this way often, we'd love another visit to see you & Ow'Butt, and enjoy the parrot's whistling!
Festive thanks & best wishes

B, R& M  November 2014
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Thank you for giving us such a relaxing and welcoming place to stay.  We loved the yummy baked goodies and have had a brilliant time.  The puppy loved it too!
S&T November 2014
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Thank you for a lovely stay, Mary.  The Apple Store was lovely and cosy and the freshly baked goodies were much appreciated!

                                                                                                                          J&S November 2014
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Thank you for such a warm welcome.  The baking, playing in the orchard and finding the eggs really made it, much appreciated.

                                                                                                                F & family November 2014
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Thank you for having us, we have enjoyed our overnight stay - will be back in the New Year for longer!  Fantastic food - as we were only here one night I would have happily paid a little extra to have my breakfast cooked for me!!!
                                                                                                        L,G & A  October 2014

(M says... It's all about Rules. We're self-catering; B&B comes under a whole different set of regulations! And as many of our guests are here for the Great Outdoors, or have young children, they appreciate not having set mealtimes and the freedom to eat whenever they please. You'll always get bread, pastries etc which have been freshly made here in the morning, home-made jams, our own tomatoes, mushrooms and eggs whenever possible, and the very best bacon and/or sausages from local producers, even if you have to put it in the pan yourself! :-)))

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Thanks again for your unbeatable hospitality. We're back for our umpteenth time & this time with our brand new baby! You've gone above and beyond for us again; the Happy Engagement decoration of balloons being a much appreciated touch.  The Apple Store is even more of a special place for us now!
See you again soon!


                                                                                            A,L & X  October 2014
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Highly recommend just had three great days there. Make sure to book a meal, Mary is a great cook
                                                                                                                           O&L via Twitter   October 2014

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Many thanks for your hospitality, we have really enjoyed our stay here.
Even though we were only here for 4 nights we managed to pack a lot into our visit, walking in the Forest of Dean where we were fortunate enough to see a family of wild boar! A fleeing glimpse only, but at least can say we saw them!

Visits to Caldicot and Chepstow Casltes and Sumonds Yat were wonderful, and so was the weather; we have been very lucky!
Also, thank you for the lovely Gluten-free Welsh cakes - I must remember to ask you for the recipe!  We also enjoyed sharing our lives with your menagerie of animals for the past 4/5 days, In particular, Butt the dog. I shall miss throwing the stick for him, but my arm won't!


                                                                                         A&K  October 2014
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Our 3rd visit and as good as ever.  It was lovely to see the addition of the pond and we were lucky to see the ducklings while they were still tiny.  Gary says his arm need a rest for a while from throwing sticks for Butt! (He loves it really)
Thank you for making our stay so relaxing and for the wonderful baking - again!

See you next year, we wish we didn't have to go home. Rolo has had a lovely time too, but he needs a rest now!

                                                                                                                                    Love, N, G & R  August 2014
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Thank you, Mary, for a truly wonderful stay, and for all of the fabulous food & treats you've spoiled us with.  We still can't work out when you ever get chance to sleep!

Butt has been such fun, with his ever-diminishing supply of sticks to thow.  The location is awesome = lovely walk through the woods yesterday to Wenchford and would definitely reccommend the Rising Sun at Moseley Green, epecially if the weather is good enough to sit out.  Dean forest Railway was also a treat.  All in all a fabulous stay & we will definitely be recommending you to our friends.  

                                                                   Much love,  L,D & B August 2014.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
From the homemade Welshcakes to the softness of the home-hatched duckling our little girl got to stroke, this has been a delightful week for us at The Apple Store.  You could not have made us more welcome or comfortable. 
 The location was perfect for exploring the Forest - we too in Puzzle Wood, Perrygrove railway, the butterfly "zoo" at Sumonds Yat, Symonds Yat Rock, the Forestry Commission sites at Beechenhurst, the Cyril Hart Arboretum, Cannop Ponds (hired bikes at Pedalbikeaway), Mallards Pike and Wenchford; all had something to entertain our toddler.
Thank you again for the truly warm and affected welcome, and a pat on the head for lovely Ow'Butt!

                                                                                                                L, P & I   August 2014
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

From the moment we arrived you have made us feel so very welcome.
The daily supply of home-cooked baking is simply the best and you have inspired me to make some jams and chutneys with the blackberries and apples I picked! I am so pleased that I found the Apple Store when looking for a place to have a first holiday with our two 9 month old pups.

We have been very lucky with the weather, managing to miss the downpours while exploring some splendid walks in the Forest of Dean.
Listening to your son's classical music and Ollie's whistling in the afternoons were a pleasure.
Thank you so much for all your tips on where to go and what to see, especially highlighting the Severn Bore which we were lucky enough to witness.
I would definitely recommend the Apple Store, and do feel free to post these comments on your web page.

                                                                                                         Kindest regards...
                                                                                                                   A, N, (& Oscar & Dylan) August 2014
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Thank you Mary, for a lovely stay. We feel rested and chilled.

Maytree is at the heart of lots to see and do (Tintern Abbey, a good climb to the Devil's Pulpit - what a view! Symonds Yat Rock and West Yat, to name a few)
Lots of great walks with Monty, and everywhere is so scenic, then fall asleep with the sounds of the waterfall - Bliss!
Thank you also for our daily fresh bread and cakes.

                                                           G, L & Monty July 2014
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Thank you for a lovely stay. Our dog, Viva, has made a lifelong friend in Ow'Butt and she will miss the knock at the door in the morning! 

Your food has been fantastic and your personal service second to none.
The area is wonderful for dog-walking and the dog-dip at Mallards Pike was a great success. We also very much enjoyed the new Italian Restaurant in the village.

As soon as we have checked dates we will be booking again for next year.
Thanks again. 

                                                                                                                                          S, P & S  July 2014
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Seen as a last minute deal on Twitter and glad we did!
Great location (although we couldn't find it very well! Maybe a sign? Just a thought...) 
(M says, "A sign on the road is tricky, probably need planning permission. Directions sent at booking have worked so far - maybe the old phone box marker is a bit overgrown at this time of year and not so easy to spot?)

Great baked goods! We're now so fat wt cant' fit in the car to get home!
Really friendly, our 2 dogs and toddler loved it here and are all well and truly shattered!
Thanks again, Mary - hope to be back soon!

                                                                                                                         T, E & E July 2014
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Thank you for a great short break; The Apple Store is a hidden gem and everything is done with love.
Your leek & potato soup was excellent and enough for two meals.
I was great to be greeted by Butt (the dog) every morning waiting for us on the doorstep and we really enjoyed playing with him.
The cottage stayed lovely and cool even on the hottest day, which was great after adventuring in the Forest. (M says, "It's a Cool in summer, warm in winter kind of house! Just as well, as the terrace is south-facing and can easily reach 30 degrees on a sunny summer's day! There's always a shady spot somewhere in the garden though.")
Thank you again for welcoming us and I'm sure we'll be back!

                                                                                                                                J&K July 2014
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I have to tell you that staying at Maytree made the difference between a nice trip and an excellent one.  For us at least, the biggest stress of travelling with young children is feeding them, and multiple times a day, at that! You completely eliminated that stress with the abundance of food you showered us with.  The breakfasts and fresh bread, the picnic lunches, and the dinners were all top quality, and such huge portions that we are STILL eating leftovers.  It was SO relaxing to be able to site-see during the day, and then have a quiet and relaxing dinner in, and the kids were able to let off some steam before bedtime.  

And YOU.  You were SO incredibly helpful.  Between the huge amount of information and pamphlets for us to peruse in the cottage, your hand drawn maps, and the wealth of information in your head, planning our days was as simple as could be.  You were also so kind about me popping up multiple times a day, and were always such an enormous help.  

Even the ducks, chickens, parrot, and dog were hospitable, and all added to our overall enjoyment of the accommodation.  Our arms are all a bit sore from playing fetch with Butt, but he was so polite and endearing about it, we could not (and didn't want to) resist.

I really can't thank you enough for everything.  The Forest of Dean is such a beautiful and magical place.  We would have enjoyed exploring the forest regardless of where we stayed, but staying in your cottage truly made it a perfect weekend.  

If we return to the Forest of Dean, our first choice place of accommodation will be the Apple Store at Maytree. 

                                                                           M, Y, B&M July 2014
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Thank you for a very restful & entertaining few days. Jim and Pespi (our own dog) made themselves at home straight away. We all got on very well with Butt, chickens & ducks and I spent hours whistling with the parrot! 

Your lemon drizzle cake, welsh cakes and scones were all so tempting and tasty. The information about local walks, pubs and places of interest was very helpful.

We found the whole area very dog-friendly and visitor-friendly, especially your neighbours.
I was very impressed with the induction hob - I had never used one before but found it very easy to operate.
We hope to visit again & see even more of your lovely Forest.
Thanks again. 

                                                                                                                      I, J & Pepsi   July 2014
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Thank you so much for a lovely stay and having us at such short notice.  The quiet of the Forest was just what we needed.  
We loved your baked goodies every morning and the fresh veggies from the garden - a really lovely touch.  Thank you so much for lending Dilly the rocking horse. She loved it so much and would happily sit in it all day.
We will miss Ow'Butt knocking on our door with his ball every morning and the whistles of the parrot.

                                                                                         Thanks again,
                                                                                            C, K & D  June 2014
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


Can't move having eaten one of your lamb casseroles (I think this is a compliment?! LOL!) so I thought it was a good time to fill this in. If only I had my glasses!
Spent a week camping in the orchard and enjoyed every minute. Your hospitality is second to none.
When the rain came with a vengance you were there with a warm Aga and croissants to bring the smile back to our faces.
We have had a lovely week here and will always remember the parrot!! If anyone can read this they have possibly drank too much Severn Cider.

Thanks for everything. We're off up May Hill on the way home. We've had a really lovely time, and hope to see you again.

                                                                            B, L & D  June 2014
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Thank you for a nice few days in the Forest - also for pulling our the stops on the gluten-free bread and Welsh cakes, delicious when still warm.
The bed was cosy and after a hard days biking the bath was great to lie flat in under the bubbles.
The dog was cute & the parrot a character. It will seem strange to travel back to a flatter, much less forested area!
Take care, God bless...

                                                                              S&K May 2014
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Had a fantastic break. Location is superb and easy to get to. 
Think we need to go home so we don't put on any more weight as the meals and baking are plentiful and gorgeous! Difficult to resist and as it's a holiday we didn't resist!
Mary - you have been very hospitable and we love the cottage; will be back.
Duffy the dog has made himself right at home, and thanks for sharing your dog with us.

                                          A,P & Duffy  May 2014
----------------------------------------------------------------------------

Thank you so much, it was lovely to be camping for the weekend and hopefully we'll be back again.  Just a shame we can't be here longer to explore the forest a bit more.

                                                                                                                                    A&R, May 2014
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Thanks for such a wonderful stay here at the Apple Store.  The setting is beautiful and the valley is really very tranquil.  We both had a brilliant stay and would recommend staying with you. Your meals were a delight and plentiful. Thanks again, and hope to see you again.
                                                                                                  B&A,  April 2014
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Thank you so much for your hospitality whilst we have been staying. The days flew by and I am sure we will be back again in the future. Indy (the dog) loved her first holiday and has taken to sleeping in front of the Aga, she's in for a shock when we get back home! The baking was good, and we had no problems with the Aga, in fact once it got going we used it all weekend.  Thanks again, and hope to see you soon


                                                                                     L,S & Indy
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Fantastic value, personal service, fresh baking every day and in a beautiful place - we felt welcome and "at home" from the moment we arrived. This really is self-catering with a difference. The photos don't do it justice, it's bigger than it looks.  We'll be back soon!

                                                                                        B&S March 2014
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Thank you so much for a lovely stay.  From arriving you have made us feel more than welcome.  It has been a real treat staying with you, what a great break from our everyday hustle & bustle busy life!!!

You have the most beautiful place here
and with you around to make it all so much more special with your "nothing is too much trouble" attitude, and helping us find the best of things to do. 
We will definitely be coming back in the future to see all the sights and sounds of the Summer months.  Thank you again for all your hopitality.

                                                                                                   M& D March 2014
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Thank you for a beautiful break from city life! You have a lovely place and your baking is marvellous!! Happy to return again to this tranquil place.

                                                                                                 A&E February 2014
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Thank you for making my birthday weekend so special.  You have taken such good care of us both and our dog Lukas (he loved his first holiday!)
We absolutely love the accommodation, it is so authentic - we love the "old and new" decor.


Even though the weather hasn't been great for us we have still had a fab time walking and sight-seeing.

I don't know what we are going to do without your lovely baked goodies every day.!
I would recommend The Apple Store to everyone!
WE REALLY DO NOT WANT TO GO BACK TO SOUTHAMPTON!!!

Thank you so much and we hope to see you again.

                                                                         L, A & Lukas Jan 2014
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Thank you for another wonderful stay, Mary. No less than perfect as usual. See you again soon.

                                                                                                  L, A & K Jan 2014
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Thank you for a very comfortable week & bringing in the New Year! This is our first visit to the Forest of Dean and depite exceptionally wet weather we have so enjoyed exploring and found some great walks.
Home-cooking much appreciated, also "scrumping" your apples and walnuts!
The Apple Store was wonderfully dog-friendly, but no hoover, no dust-an & brush made it hard to clear up!
                                                                           P,C & C Jan 2014

*** It's your holiday, and my job to clear up! Dustpan & brush are under the sink, if missing just ask! Hoover lives in the cupboard under the stairs - it had "migrated" upstairs during your stay but again, just ask!  Apologies for these things missing.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Such a peaceful, cosy nook.  Thank you for taking such great care of us, making us feel so welcome and baking such delicious things for us.  You were very kind in making your baked goods dairy-free. Beautiful setting too.  We do hope to come again.

                                                                                                        J,J & J December 2013
*** Baking is almost always dairy-free; we use vegetable fat and sunflower oil in cooking, our eggs are almost always from our own hens and if not, free-range from a local farm nearby.  We can always accommodate vegetarians, dairy-free and vegans at The Apple Store.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
"Rustic idyll"

On unlocking the door we were greeted to the sounds of classical music drifting in from the adjoining main house, being played by the talented son of our hostess. Mary, herself, is an obviously accomplished lady who has turned the lower floor of her home into a rustic idyll. From the white, vintage lace bed linen to the generously proportioned toilet, basin and bath, the accomodation has a unique feeling.

Mary worked tirelessly to make sure we were comfortable, happy and well looked after. We told her we planned to make a beef stew in the slow cooker whilst we toured the local Christmas market and she promptly donned her wellies and returned with 3 leeks, freshly harvested from her garden!

On our first morning, Mary arrived at the door with a basket of freshly baked, and still warm rolls, a layer of Welsh cakes and an apple cake. On arrival, we found a lemon drizzle cake, and I'm sure if we'd told her we needed something more she would have produced it; and at the same high standard of everything she provided for us.

In summary, this is simple, homespun accomodation; with impressive views across a valley, and over a waterfall as the river falls down the side of the valley. The aga provides background heat which is supplemented with a fire at the other end of the living room.

                                                                                   L C on "Flipkey" Trip Advisor November 2013

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


"Here again for our 2nd stay at The Apple Store and yet again we have been thoroughly spoilt.  Rolo our dog settled in straight away and we felt very much 'at home' from the moment we arrived.

This is most definitely NOT a place to visit if you are trying to watch your weight - M's baking and cooking is first class and we have been so well catered for.
We found "Sammy's Walks" a great guide to walks off the usual tracks, all very well explained and detailed.

Thank you so much for such a welcoming and relaxing stay - we will see you again in the Spring for a longer stay.
We still haven't seen a wild boar so will have to come back anyway!
"

                                                                  G,N & Rollo November 2013

M says..."Wonderful to welcome you back, and to see Rollo again!  No idea of the calorific value of food - all I know is, it's fresh, local, done to order on the day, and although you get real butter in your fridge I use sunflower oil in cooking, hardly any salt and not a lot of sugar.  Any consolation?  I never use processed foods and don't do chips, so from what I understand it's "good for you" food, especially if combined with a good dose of fresh air and exercise!
Well done to the author of Sammy's Walks - local guide to dog-friendly walks in the Forest of Dean - a copy is provided for guests and available at Blakeney Village shop.
Spring is lovely - meadows full of wild daffodils and woods full of bluebells and wild garlic.  Look forward to seeing you then! I can't guarantee wild boar but I'll stake out their whereabouts before you come next time - best to go out looking early in the morning or at dusk in the evening, and leave Rollo with me!

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Thank you for your wonderful hospitality at The Apple Store.  Although we only had a brief visit we have been treated royally in the Royal Forest of Dean.
Your meals and cakes have been an absolute joy.
We will definately recommend a stay to our friends and family. See you again soon!


                                                                                    G & M  October 2013
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
...We've had a fabulous time at The Apple Store.  We have felt welcome and looked after from the moment we pulled up.  Thank you for taking such good care of all our needs.
We have never been so well-provided for on a short break; you have thought of everything! 5-Star stay!!
See you again soon...Your dumplings and Welsh Cakes are the best!


                                    L,A & K  October 2013

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Thank you for sharing your Apple Store and all its beautiful produce with us.  You not only fed us, with your unbelievably delicious homemade meals and baked goods for our stay, but I think for the week to come, as we take all our lovely tit-bits home with us!

I love how your've given new life to this old "store" with all its carefully chosen fixtures and fittings, and yet retained a sense of its humble beginnings with the stone wall & beam.  A truly inspired idea putting wheels on some of the furniture to keep it flexible & allowing guests to creat their surroundings as it suits them.  It adds an extra degree of comfort, so one feels truly at home. 
Your handwritten guidebook to the area is so helpful and I can't wait to read its "2nd edition" when we visit again!
Thanks so much
PS. Now you can advertise that you host international travellers!

                                                                                          M&M (from Sout Africa)  Sept '13

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
"A little gem!"

A great base for exploring the Forest of Dean. A simple, comfortable property which feels remote but is actually a short walk from a village with shops and pubs. Chickens roam freely and their eggs are lovely! If you like throwing sticks there's a dog eager to retrieve them. Mary will leave on request delicious meals in a slow cooker for you to eat when you're ready, along with home-grown or local vegetables, local cider, and a pudding if required. And her cakes and bread are excellent. We also enjoyed sitting in the sun on the spacious terrace and looking at the view.

                                                                               DM, reviewed on Flipkey/Tripadvisor Aug 2013

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

We have two dogs and chickens at home so this was a great place for us (the dogs were with us, not the chickens!)

Our dogs got on really well with Ow'Butt and left the chickens and duck alone; somewhow they kept out of the stream.  The walks up the back into the Forest are fantastic, it feels as though you could walk for hours (we only managed an hour or so).  Having a meal prepared for us on arrival was great; it lasted us two or three days and the cakes and preserves are just the best.

The place has everything you need, but the addition of a tea-cosy and egg-cups would be a good idea. (Mary says, "Sorry, they'd wandered upstairs - if only you'd have asked...!)

Thanks, we had a great time and love the area although we only saw a small part of it in 3 days so there is a lot more to do and see.


                                                                 M&H Sept. 2013

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Thank you for a lovely stay and making us feel welcome. We certainly felt "at home"!

The cottage was so cosy and catered for all our needs.  We loved your dog coming to call for us each morning (our dog Paddy made a new friend!) and listening to the sound of the stream.  And the parrot and duck kept us amused while the chickens entertained Paddy.

We really enjoyed your homemade cakes and the fresh eggs too.

Your home is really well-placed for us to explore the Forest and we found your recommendations for walk to be "spot on"! We would definitely recommend a stay to anyone who wants an authentic Forest break and we hope to come back to visit you again.

                                                                         L,R,E & P  Sept 2013

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Thank you for a lovley weekend. You have taken excellent care of us. We are only sorry we could not do full justice to all the lovely food you prepared for us - we will take some home to our children to enjoy...

Wemchford was a lovely place to start walking from and a variety of paths led to Mallards Pike and "Go Ape".

We would certainly come back and stay with you if we do another Forest of Dean holiday and will certainly recommend you to our friends. Thank you.

                                                                             The H's Aug. 2013


-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


Thank you for making us feel so welcome. We have had a truly fantastic holiday here at The Apple Store, even better than we had hoped for.

This is a great base for exploring the forest, and our dog has had some long, peaceful walks with us...he made himself at home in your garden!

We particularly enjoyed seeing the chickens, Charlie the duck and Ow'Butt the dog every day, and the parrot kept us entertained too.
Last but not least, your cooking is absolutely first-class, thank you so much for the baking and the meals you made for us. We are definitely coming back to stay again.

                N&G Aug '13


----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


...felt a bit like looking into our dream future!  We loved sharing your home-grown produce and the lovely treats were very much appreciated...the best spread we've had anywhere!  The grounds...were simply lovely and SO peaceful with the sound of the water and wind throught the trees...  We really did feel the peace when we stayed there, you've clearly got a superb location being so close to the Forest walks ... hope to see you again in the future"
           

         L&H July '13

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
A great weekend break, loved the fresh produce and Mary's home baked bread, scones and cake, didn't want to leave.

 Chris, Nottingham. July '13
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
We would like to thank you all for our stay here at the Apple Store, it was better than we imagined and we wish we could have stayed for longer.
The service here is above and beyond and the homemade food and cakes were delicious!


The Apple Store is great value for money and although small is extremely cosy and 'homely'.  I would definitly recommend to everyone!

The surrounding area is gorgeous and very peaceful, had we stayed longer we have loved to wander around, but we are sure to return and will explore
next time.
Thank you for everything.


         S&T  June '13
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


"It's a lovely place.  I slept really well, the bed was comfy and warm.  No stairs, so it would be great for my parents."
                                                                                                                                   'R'       May 2013
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Thank you for your hospitality. We had a great stay and tried to take in all of our surroundings. The cottage was great...we all enjoyed our stay. Thank you again and we might see you in the future.

                                                                         D,S & family  May'13
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Thank you for a wonderful stay.  I would't have guessed I was the first - everything was spot-on!
M made me feel very welcome and had prepared a delicious dinner & breakfast.  M's local knowledge and tips of where to visit added to my trip - found some real gems.
The Apple Store was a lovely place to stay, especially with chickens pottering around and the view from the windows.
The Apple Store was great value for money - cosy, but everything you need.  Dinner, breakfast and baked goods were definitely worth the extra - delicious!
It's also very well located to visit all the important sights in the Forest.
Thanks again for a lovely weekend!

                                                                         Clare    May 2013.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------